Friday, July 11, 2014

SP urges immediate passage of bill reapportioning Aklan into two legislative districts

Posted July 11, 2014
Written by Gloria Villas

Sangguniang Panlalawigan (SP) Aklan passed a resolution no. 139 series of 2014 sponsored by SP Member Emmanuel Soviet Dela Cruz which reiterates the general sentiment of Aklanons for the immediate reapportioning of the province into two legislative districts.

Dela Cruz stated that the province has long been qualified to be reapportioned into two legislative districts having a present population of more than half a million as of the latest census of population conducted by the National Statistics Office (NSO).

It was the Governor Florencio Miraflores, former representative of the lone district of Aklan who filed Bill no. 3860 during the 15th Congress.

The said bill was passed by lower house but was unfortunately stalled at the Senate Committee on Local Government and the Senate Committee on Constitutional Amendments, Revision of Codes and Laws when the term of the 15th Congress has ended.

If passed, the two legislative districts will be divided between east and west. The east district will be comprised on the municipalities of the capital town of Kalibo, New Washinton, Banga, Balete, Altavas, Batan, Libacao and Madalag, and the west district will be comprised of the municipalities of Malay where Boracay Island is, the towns of Ibajay, Buruanga, nabas, tangalan, Makato, Lezo, Malinao and Numancia.

No comments: